Everything You Need to Know About EN 15804+A2

key summary
  • The EN 15804 norm, introduced by the European Union in 2012 and revised in July 2019 to EN 15804 + A2, establishes guidelines for creating Environmental Product Declarations (EPDs) in the construction sector.
  • Aims to standardize the process of measuring environmental impacts, making them comparable by regulating data collection, reporting, verification, and presentation.
  • Expands mandatory reporting to thirteen core environmental impact categories, with updated calculation methodologies and additional optional impact categories.
  • Notable changes include consolidating the "Global Warming Potential" indicator into "Climate Change Total" and specifying both cradle-to-gate and end-of-life phases for products, along with external impacts.

In 2012, the European Union laid down the groundwork for environmentally conscious construction by introducing the EN 15804 norm. This norm established guidelines for the construction sector on creating Environmental Product Declarations (EPDs). In July 2019 it was revised and updated to EN 15804 + A2, replacing the old EN 15804 + A1 version. Compliance with A2 has been mandatory since 2022.

But why does EN 15804 matter? EN 15804 aims to unify the process of creating environmental impact measures in order to make them comparable. This was done by introducing rules on how data is collected, reported verified, and presented.

What’s new with EN 15804 + A2?

Now, let’s dive into the enhancements brought about by EN 15804 + A2. In the previous version, reporting obligations included seven impact categories. The updated norm, however, expands the mandatory reporting to thirteen core environmental impact categories, along with several optional ones. Furthermore, certain existing impact categories now employ revised calculation methodologies such as the Module D (treating the reuse, recycling or recovery of materials).

For instance, the indicator “Global Warming Potential” (GWP) previously used in the EN 15804 + A1 standard was divided into three categories: Climate Change Fossil, Climate Change Land Use and Land Change, and Climate Change Biogenic Removal and Emissions. Under EN 15804 + A2, Climate Change Total sums up all these three categories and is thus equivalent to the “Global Warming Potential” in the old version. This means that products need to specify both the cradle-to-gate and end-of-life phases, as well as external impacts beyond the system boundaries. The minimum requirements apply to all products in Modules A1-A3, C1-C4, and D.

Navigating through complex regulation changes

At Emidat, we strive to assist in navigating the complexities of Life Cycle Assessments (LCAs) by utilizing the most up-to-date data sets and employing the latest calculation methods and industry consensus. With our Emidat software, the calculation logic is already integrated, alleviating any concerns you may have about it.

Our objective is to guide you through LCAs in a transparent, straightforward, and norm-compliant manner, offering clear explanations and interpretations that are as reliable as the construction projects they're designed for.

Automate your epds.
Contact US.

By submitting this form, you agree to be contacted by us by email and acknowledge that your contact details will be stored by us.

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.